Public Hearing on Mandatory Minimum Sentencing


Senate Judiciary Committee
Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Public Safety & Criminal Justice

Monday, May 22, 2017
9:30 a.m.

NOB, Hearing Room #1


Mandatory Minimum Sentencing

9:30 a.m.
Senator Stewart J. Greenleaf, Chairman (opening remarks)
Senator Daylin Leach, Minority Chairman (opening remarks)       

9:40 a.m.
The Honorable Jeffrey Manning, President Judge, Allegheny County
The Honorable John Foradora, President Judge, Jefferson County

9:55 a.m.
The Honorable John Wetzel Secretary, Pennsylvania Department of Corrections 

10:10 a.m.
The Honorable Charles Ramsey Chairman, Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Delinquency   

10:25 a.m.
Professor Alfred Blumstein, Carnegie Mellon University     

10:40 a.m.
Professor Mark Kleiman, New York University

10:55 a.m.
Mark Bergstrom, Executive Director, Pennsylvania Commission on Sentencing

11:10 a.m.
Pennsylvania District Attorneys Association – Combined Testimony
The Honorable Edward Marsico, Dauphin County
The Honorable Craig Steadman, Lancaster County
The Honorable Lisa Lazzari-Strasiser, Somerset County

11:25 a.m.
K. Bret Bucklen, Ph.D., Pennsylvania Department of Corrections

11:40 a.m.
Kevin Ring, President Families Against Mandatory Minimums

11:55 a.m.
Detective Cameron Parker, Fraternal Order of Police, Pennsylvania State Lodge

12:10 p.m.
Devin Reaves, Addiction Treatment Professional

12:25 p.m.
Jennifer Storm, Victim Advocate

12:40 p.m.
Elizabeth Randol, ACLU of Pennsylvania


Written Testimony only:
Commonwealth Foundation
The Pennsylvania Interbranch Commission for Gender, Racial and Ethnic Fairness
The Pennsylvania Prison Society